Friday, 7 December 2012

Current Affairs Dec 2012

  • National Rifles Association of India (NRAI) on 15 October 2012 appointed Jaspal Rana as the chief coach for the Junior Pistol Shooters

  •  Liberian President and Nobel laureateEllen Johnson Sirleaf on 19 November 2012 was chosen for 2012 Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development for being an inspiration to women and ensuring return of peace and democracy in her country

  • The former President of the Federative Republic of Brazil, Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva was awarded with Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development on 22 November 2012 at Rashtrapati Bhavan by President of India, Pranab Mukherjee

Sachin Tendulkar honoured by Australia

indian cricket icon Sachin Tendulkar has been awarded the Order of Australia, one of the country’s highest honours.
Australian minister Simon Crean handed the award to him in Mumbai
Aishwarya Rai Bachchan gets French honour
Bollywood actress Aishwarya Rai was Thursday conferred upon a civilian award by the French government for her contribution to the arts on the occasion of her birthday.
Francois Richier, ambassador of France to India, conferred the honour of prestigious ‘Knight of the Order of Arts and Letters’ on her .
In the past, noted celebrities like Shah Rukh Khan and Nandita Das received the honour.

Cricketer Vernon Philander Named South-African Sportsman of the Year 2012

South African fast bowler Vernon Philander on 4 November 2012 at the South African Sports Awards ceremony in Sandton named Sportsman of the year beating two Olympic gold medallists for the award.
The top title of Sports Star of the Year went to Olympic gold-medallist swimmer Chad Le Clos who had won gold in the men’s 200m butterfly at the London Olympic Games 2012.
27 Years old Vernon Philander made huge public impact since his Test debut in 2011 and he is now ranked the number two bowler in the world only behind his fellow teammate Dale Steyn.
Earlier in 2011, Hashim Amla had won the award and was nominated again this year.
.Indian Tennis Player Mahesh Bhupathi and Rohan Bopanna  won their first ATP World Tour Masters 1000 title together defeating Pakistan’s Aisam- Ul- Haq Qureshi and Netherlands’ Jean- Julien Rojer by 7-6(6), 6-3 in the final of the BNP Paribas Masters in Paris.
The pair Mahesh Bhupathi and Rohan Bopanna won € 142500 in prize money and had also claimed 1000 ATP Doubles Team Rankings points, while their opponent and Barclays ATP World Tour Finals qualifiers Aisam-Ul- Qureshi and Jean- Julien Rojer claimed €69780 prize money and 600 points.
Anand Kumar, teacher and founder of Super 30 institute, which provides free residential coaching to students from economically backward families for IIT-JEE exams, named ‘People’s Hero’ by People magazine of American Time Magazine Group.
Indian Cricketer Virat Kohli was chosen for the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) Polly Umrigar award for being India’s top international cricketer in 2011-12.

Ricky Pointing announced his Retirement from International Test Cricket

The Cricketer and Former Captain of the Australian Cricket team, Ricky Pointing  announced his retirement from International Test Cricket.
Ricky Pointing nicknamed as Punter was the Captain for the national team of Australia in both test and one day segment of Cricket from 2004 to 2011 and 2002 to 2011 respectively. He made his international debut in one day cricket on 15 February 1995 against South Africa and in Test on 3 December 1995 against Sri Lanka.
Eight core sectors of the Indian Economy grew by 6.5 percent

EPFO (Employees Provident Fund Organisation) launched its e-Passbook Portal

Employees Provident Fund Organization (EPFO) on 30 November 2012 launched its e-Passbook portal for its members to access their accounts online. The facility will be available on the website- The members will now be able to download their e-passbook each month, if they are active and Electronic Challan-cum-Return is being uploaded by their employer.

Former Prime Minister of India IK Gujral Died

Former Prime Minister of India Inder Kumar Gujral, the head of unsteady coalition government in 1990s  died . He was  92 years .He was born on 4 December1919 in Jhelum (Pakistan’s Punjab Province).He was the information and broadcasting minister of India when Emergency was imposed on 25 June 1975.
Hironmoy Chatterjee, Secretary of the Bengal Tennis Association on 1 November 2012 was appointed as the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of The All India Tennis Association (AITA)

Pakistan won the Asian Kabaddi Championship

Pakistan on 6 November 2012 was declared champion of the Asian Kabaddi Championship after Indian team walked out from the field in a protest against the referee’s decision of penalizing the Indian Coach.

Sebastian Vettel won F1 Second Indian Grand Prix

Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel won the Indian Grand Prix 2012 at the Buddh International Circuit (BIC) for the second time in a row extending his Formula One championship lead.
Sebastian Vettel’s Red Bull teammate Mark Webber finished third

Saina Nehwal won Denmark Open Badminton Title

The World No. 4 badminton player Saina Nehwal  won the Denmark Open Super Series Premier tournament by defeating the German badminton player Juliane Schenk by 21-17 21-8.
This title is counted to be her sixth Super Series title and the first title outside Asia. Her previous titles came in Indonesia (2009, 2010, 2012), Singapore (2010) and Hong Kong (2010).
Sunil Gavaskar, the Former Captain and legendary opener of Indian Cricket Team  was conferred with BCCI’s prestigious Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award at the BCCI Annual Awards Function 2011-12

Novak Djokovic won Shanghai Masters

Novak Djokovic beated British Tennis Player Andy Murray, on 14 October 2012 saving five match points to seal a stunning 5- 7, 7- 6 ( 13/ 11), 6- 3 victory in the Shanghai Rolex Masters final.
Novak Djokovic has won five Grand Slam singles titles: the 2008, 2011, and 2012 Australian Open; the 2011 Wimbledon Championships; and the 2011 US Open. By winning three Majors in 2011, Djokovic became the sixth male player in the open era to win three Majors in a calendar year.
The Shanghai Rolex Masters was named ATP Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year for 2009, 2010 and 2011.

Madhav Chavan Awarded the Education Nobel Prize

Dr Madhav Chavan was awarded the WISE prize, which is known as the ‘Nobel prize for Education’. He was felicitated on 13 November 2012 at the WISE summit in Doha, the capital of Qatar.

No comments:

Post a Comment