Saturday, 16 June 2012

Current Affairs 2012 & GK 2012

 Mr. Sampath appointed as new CEC
Senior-most Election Commissioner Veeravalli Sundaram Sampath  appointed as the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) by President Pratibha Patil. He replaces S.Y. Quraishi . Mr. Sampath, a 1973 batch IAS officer of the Andhra Pradesh cadre, took charge as Election Commissioner on April 21, 2009.

Rs 3,939 Crore Plan Budget size approved for Meghalaya

The Central Planning Commission has approved a Plan Budget size of Rs. 3,939 Crore for Meghalaya the year for 2012-13. This is is 44.44 per cent higher than that in 2011-12.

12.5 p.c. service charge on railway freight from July

Freight charges, which were hiked by over 30 per cent in March, will rise further with the imposition of service charge from July 1.

State Bank cuts rates for select term deposits

 State Bank of India (SBI) has revised its retail term deposit interest rates by reducing 25 basis points for tenors up to 240 days with effect from June 8. The reduction in interest rates on retail term deposits is being seen as a precursor to a cut in lending rates over the next few days.
The SBI lowered the retail term deposit rates by 0.25 percentage point in tenors up to 240 days with effect from June 8. While deposits (below Rs 15 lakh) with a maturity period of 7-90, 91-179 and 180 days have been brought down to 7 per cent, the revised rate is 7.25 per cent for deposits between 181 and 240 days.

 IIFA Awards 2012

13th International Indian Film Academy Awards held in Singapore

Winners of IIFA Awards 2012

  • Best Actor – Ranbir Kapoor (Rockstar)
  • Best Actress – Vidya Balan (The Dirty Picture)
  • Best Movie – Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara
  • Best Director – Zoya Akhtar (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)
  • Best Story – Zoya Akhtar and Reema Katgi (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)
  • Hottest Bollywood Pair – Ranbir Kapoor and Nargis Fakhri (Rockstar)
  • Best Supporting Actor – Farhan Akhtar (Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara)
  • Best Supporting Actress – Parineeti Chopra (Ladies vs Ricky Bahl)
  • Best Performance in a Comic Role – Ritesh Deshmukh (Double Dhamaal)
  • Best Performance in a Negative Role – Prakash Raj (Singham)
  • Best Debut (Male) – Vidyut Jamwal (Force)
  • Best Debut (Female) – Parineeti Chopra for Ladies vs Ricky Bahl
  • Best Music – A R Rahman ( Rockstar)
  • Best Singer Male – Mohit Chauhan (Nadaan Parinde – Rockstar)
  • Best Singer Female – Shreya Ghosal (Teri Meri – Bodyguard)
  • Best Lyrics – Irshad Kamil (Nadaan Parindey – Rockstar)
  • IIFA Awards 2012 for Outstanding Achievement in Indian Cinema – Ramesh Sippy
  • IIFA Awards 2012 for Outstanding Achievement in Indian Cinema – Rekha
  • IIFA 2012 Green Award: Dia Mirza

Saina wins Thailand Open

Saina Nehwal got victory in the Thailand Open Grand Prix Gold badminton tournament in Bangkok . She beat Thailand’s rising star and world No.11 Inthanon Ratchanok 19-21, 21-15, 21-10 .She won her second title of the year .

2012 French Open

The 2012 French Open 111th edition of the French Open, and took place at the Stade Roland Garros from 27 May to 11 June 2012 .
Men’s Singles  Rafael Nadal
Runners up Novak Djokovic
Women’s Singles  Maria Sharapova
Runners up Sara Errani
Men’s Doubles  Max Mirnyi /  Daniel Nestor
Women’s Doubles  Sara Errani /  Roberta Vinci
Mixed Doubles  Sania Mirza /  Mahesh Bhupathi
Boys’ Singles  Kimmer Coppejans
Girls’ Singles  Annika Beck
Boys’ Doubles  Andrew Harris /  Nick Kyrgios
Girls’ Doubles  Daria Gavrilova /  Irina Khromacheva
Legends Under 45 Doubles  Albert Costa /  Carlos Moyá
Women’s Legends Doubles  Lindsay Davenport /  Martina Hingis
Legends Over 45 Doubles  John McEnroe /  Patrick McEnroe
Wheelchair Men’s Singles  Stéphane Houdet
Wheelchair Women’s Singles  Esther Vergeer
Wheelchair Men’s Doubles  Frédéric Cattaneo /  Shingo Kunieda
Wheelchair Women’s Doubles  Marjolein Buis /  Esther Vergeer

No comments:

Post a Comment

Recent Posts